2013 Nursing Excellence Award Winners

“All 24 of today’s winners are multipliers,” said Victoria Rich, PhD, chief nurse executive, UPMC,  addressing the nurses -- and their families -- at this year’s UPHS Nursing Clinical Excellence Awards ceremony.

According to Multipliers: How the Best Leaders Make Everyone Smarter, leaders can be broken down into two categories: diminishers, who seem to drain capability and intelligence from their teams, and  multipliers, who make those around them feel motivated and able to tackle challenges. “Diminishers hire intelligent people but they don’t give them permission to think. Multipliers think people are smart and they will figure it out on their own.

“In studies, multiplier executive leaders got two times as much productivity from their employees than diminisher leaders,” she said.  “I thank you all for being multipliers.”

Noting that she will retire at the end of the year, Rich said that attending these events “has been the best part of my career. There is no better place than Penn Medicine.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners of Nursing Clinical Excellence Awards from throughout the Health System!          

Lillian Brunner Clinical Judgment and Decision Making Award

Catherine Amosose, BSN, RN           HUP

Nicole Ciasullo, BSN, RN                  CPUP

Alyson, Hinkle, BSN, RN                  PPMC

Natalya Koday, BSN, RN                  PAH

Joyce Paragas, BSN, RN                  GSPP 

Jane Payne, BSN, RN, CHPN            PHCHS


Rosalyn J. Watts Nurse-Patient/Family Relationship Award

Scott Ambrass, BA, RN                 GSPP

Denise Miller, BSN, RN, CNOR       PAH

Coleen Nicolosi, RN, BS, CCRN       HUP

Terrence Pilgrim, BSN, RN             CPUP

Richelle Richetts, MPH, BSN, RN     PPMC

Patricia Tudor, BSN, RN, CRNI        PHCHS


Dorothy Botdorf Award for Clinical Leadership

Amanda Brock, BSN, RN, OCN       PAH

Joy Iocca, BSN, RN, CEN               HUP

Geneneen Kluska, RN                   GSPP

Samantha Mulfino, BSN, RN, CCRN    PPMC

Theresa Myers, BSN, RN, OCN        CPUP

Leah Salp, BSN, RN, CHPN             PHCHS


Helen McClelland Award for Clinical Scholarship

Veleta Boswell, MSN, RN, CRNI         PHCHS

Diane Everett, BSN, RN                    GSPP

Mari-Carmen Farmer, BSN, RN, RNC-OB     PAH

Tammi Fisher, RN, OCN                    CPUP

Tiffany Harris, BSN, RN                    PPMC

Robin Hermann, MSN, RN, CCRP       HUP


To see photos of this year's winners, click here.


Share This Page: