Health Alert:

See the latest Coronavirus Information including testing sites, visitation restrictions, appointments and scheduling, and more.

For Nurses and Advanced Practice

The Clinical Advancement and Recognition Program (CARP) is designed to recognize clinical nurses for their contributions to quality patient care, as well as their clinical knowledge and professional achievements. The program was developed to provide an advancement opportunity for nurses who choose to focus on their clinical practice and remain at the bedside.

The Penn Medicine CARP is a six-level clinical advancement program. Level I is the entry level for new clinical nurses. Clinical Nurse I nurses advance to level II within 15-24 months of hire. The Clinical Nurse II is the fundamental practice level of the professional nurse and represents the nurse who has acquired the necessary clinical knowledge and skills to practice with competency.

Clinical nurses also have the opportunity to apply for advancement to level III or level IV based on their refined clinical skills and it is this process that requires the creation of a portfolio.

Clinical Nurse Specialist Level IV is an entry-level position for the Advanced Practice Nurse and Nurse Educator. They can apply to advance to Level V and VI on their clinical ladder.

The DAISY Foundation

The DAISY (an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System) Foundation was established in 2000 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the autoimmune disease idiopathic thrombocytopenia purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. During Patrick’s 8-week hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion that his nurses provided not only to Pat, but to everyone in his family. As a result, one of the goals they set in creating a foundation in Pat’s memory was to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the super-human work that they do every day.

What is the DAISY Award?

The DAISY Award is a nationwide program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skills and compassionate care provided by nurses every day. Penn Presbyterian Medical Center is proud to be a DAISY Award Hospital Partner, recognizing one of our nurses with this special honor every quarter.

Share This Page: