News Release
C├ęsar de la Fuente
César de la Fuente, PhD

César de la Fuente, PhD, a Presidential Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Microbiology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Bioengineering, has been selected to receive the American Peptide Society’s 2023 Rao Makineni Lectureship. This award was established in 2003 and it recognizes an individual who has made a recent contribution of unusual merit to research in the field of peptide science. This award will be presented this June during the 28th American Peptide Symposium in Scottsdale, Arizona, where de la Fuente will present a special lecture.





Carl June
Carl June, MD

Carl June, MD, the Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy, has received the inaugural Phacilitate Lifetime Achievement Award for his pioneering work in the field of immunotherapy and CAR T cell therapy. The award was presented at Advanced Therapies Week in Miami on January 19, 2023.







Paul J. Mather
Paul J. Mather, MD

Paul J. Mather, MD, a professor of Clinical Medicine and physician leader of Heart Failure Disease Management, has been honored with the American Heart Association’s (AHA) 2023 Edward S. Cooper, MD Award. Mather has been a dedicated volunteer for the AHA, serving in leadership roles as local board president in Greater Philadelphia and regional board president for the former Great Rivers Affiliate. His passion and commitment to the AHA are exemplified through his previous awards, including the Dr. Lynn A. Smaha Memorial Award of Excellence in 2019 and the AHA National Physician of the Year Award in 2020. 





Nuala J. Meyer
Nuala J. Meyer, MD, MS

Nuala J. Meyer, MD, MS, an associate professor of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care, has been elected a fellow for the American Thoracic Society (ATS). The goal of ATS is to “help the world breathe,” meaning clean air, outstanding care for patients with respiratory infections or diseases, innovative treatments or care delivery paradigms, and advocacy to improve global lung health. Meyer notes that being recognized as an ATS Fellow highlights the role that the American Thoracic Society has played in her own career.  Meyer’s research focuses on Acute Repertory Distress Syndrome (ARDS), in which she helps develop clinical trials used to test new treatments for ARDS.




Jessica I. W. Morgan
Jessica I. W. Morgan, PhD

Jessica I. W. Morgan, PhD, an associate professor of Ophthalmology, has received the 2023 Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Award by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. The $12,000 award is granted to early career investigators working in areas of translational research whose work has promise of leading to clinical application. Morgan’s research is devoted to applying high-resolution retinal imaging techniques to study the structure and function of the retina at the cellular level to investigate the pathogenesis and treatment of retinal disease. 





Anna E. Schoenbaum
Anna E. Schoenbaum

Anna E. Schoenbaumvice president of Applications and Digital Health, has received the HIMSS-ANI Nursing Informatics Changemaker Award. The award celebrates health care leaders for their pursuit to improve care through the means of information technology. Schoenbaum was selected for her work bringing health care information technology together with clinical practice. In particular, HIMSS recognized Schoenbaum for her latest work in Precision Medicine and the opening of the HUP Pavilion.






John Wierzbowski
John Wierzbowski, MSc, MPH

John Wierzbowski, MSc, MPHCHPCP, corporate manager of Enterprise Business Continuity and Emergency Operations, has received the COVID-19 Pandemic Civilian Service Medal for exemplary service to the nation as part of the federal medical response to the pandemic. Wierzbowski serves as a member of the Incident Management Team (IMT) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response. Wierzbowski is one of approximately 90 IMT responders to receive the award for civilians who deployed for 30 consecutive or 60 cumulative days to provide medical care to state, territory, tribal, and local partners. He also serves as the chair of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Healthcare Coalition and as a member of the federal healthcare and public health sector coordinating council.




Roseann I. Wu
Roseann I. Wu, MD, MPH

Roseann I. Wu, MD, MPHan associate professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine,has been named to the American Board of Pathology’s Test Development and Advisory Committee for Cytopathology for 2023. The Committee is responsible for developing and reviewing the ABPath certification exam questions that assess and certify a physician’s education, knowledge, experience, and skills in order to provide high-quality care in the pathology profession.


Penn Medicine is one of the world’s leading academic medical centers, dedicated to the related missions of medical education, biomedical research, excellence in patient care, and community service. The organization consists of the University of Pennsylvania Health System and Penn’s Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine, founded in 1765 as the nation’s first medical school.

The Perelman School of Medicine is consistently among the nation's top recipients of funding from the National Institutes of Health, with $550 million awarded in the 2022 fiscal year. Home to a proud history of “firsts” in medicine, Penn Medicine teams have pioneered discoveries and innovations that have shaped modern medicine, including recent breakthroughs such as CAR T cell therapy for cancer and the mRNA technology used in COVID-19 vaccines.

The University of Pennsylvania Health System’s patient care facilities stretch from the Susquehanna River in Pennsylvania to the New Jersey shore. These include the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Chester County Hospital, Lancaster General Health, Penn Medicine Princeton Health, and Pennsylvania Hospital—the nation’s first hospital, founded in 1751. Additional facilities and enterprises include Good Shepherd Penn Partners, Penn Medicine at Home, Lancaster Behavioral Health Hospital, and Princeton House Behavioral Health, among others.

Penn Medicine is an $11.1 billion enterprise powered by more than 49,000 talented faculty and staff.

Share This Page: