Four faculty from the PerelmanSchool of Medicine have been elected members of the Institute of Medicine, oneof the nation’s highest honors in biomedicine. The new members bring PennMedicine’s total to 61. Established in 1970 by the National Academy ofSciences, the IOM is a national resource for independent, scientificallyinformed analysis and recommendations on health issues.

The new Penn Medicine members are:


Shelley-Berger-for-System-NewsShelley Burger, PhD, director of thePenn Epigenetics Program.






    Carl-JuneCarl June, MD, director of Translational Research in Penn’s AbramsonCancer Center.






    Mitchell-SchnallMitchell Schnall, MD, PhD, chair ofRadiology.






    Kevin-VolppKevin Volpp, PhD, founding director ofthe Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics and co-director ofthe Penn Medicine Center for Innovation.

    Share This Page: