Cardiovascular Research at Penn

Learn more about the Penn Cardiovascular Institute leadership, administration and staff.

The Penn Cardiovascular Institute (CVI) leadership is comprised of four distinguished clinician-scientists. Together, they lead more than 125 faculty members at Penn who describe their primary research area as cardiovascular biology or cardiovascular medicine.

Penn CVI Leadership

Michael S. Parmacek, MD
Penn CVI Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Michael A. Acker, MD
Chief, Division of Cardiac Surgery

Jonathan A. Epstein, MD
Scientific Director, Penn CVI

Daniel J. Rader, MD
Scientific Director of Translational and Clinical Research, Penn CVI

Penn Cardiovascular Institute Internal Advisory Committee

The strategic focus and direction of the Penn CVI is overseen by the CVI Internal Advisory Committee. The committee includes senior faculty members from multiple departments, centers, institutes and schools at the University of Pennsylvania.

Michael A. Acker, MD
Professor of Surgery and Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery

R. Nick Bryan, MD, PhD
Eugene P. Pendergrass Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology

Peter F. Davies, PhD
Robinette Foundation Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine 
Director, Institute for Medicine and Engineering

Daniel J. Rader, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology, and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Associate Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics
Director, Preventive Cardiovascular Medicine and Lipid Clinic
Program Director, General Clinical Research Center

Brian L. Strom, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology

H. Lee Sweeney, PhD
William Maul Measey Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology

Share This Page: