Under the umbrella of the Division of Gastroenterology, we are committed to:

  • Recruitment of women faculty and fellow to the field of Gastroenterology
  • Maintaining women faculty in Gastroenterology
  • Career development
  • Educating and encouraging research in women's health issues in Gastroenterology
  • Steering Committee Members

    The committee is comprised of faculty from different tracks, including MDs and PhDs, fellows, research staff/students, and ad-hoc non-GI faculty.

    Annual Radhika Sirinvasan, MD Women in GI Lectureship

    • 2011: Andrea Reid, MD, MPH
      Washington, DC Veterans Affairs Medical Center
    • 2012: Helen M. Sheilds, MD
      Associate Master, Oliver Wendell Holmes Society
      Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
    • 2013: Sheila Crowe, MD
      Professor of Medicine, Director of Research
      University of California San Diego
    • 2014: Gail Hecht, MD, MS, AGAF
      Division Director and Professor of Medicine
      Loyola Medicine, Chicago
    • 2015: Kim Barrett, PhD
      Professor of Medicine, Dean of Graduate Studies
      Division of Gastroenterology, University of California San Diego
    • 2016: Grace Elta, MD
      Professor of Internal Medicine
      University of Michigan
    • 2018: Marcia Cruz-Correa, MD, PhD
      Professor of Medicine & Biochemistry
      University of Puerto Rico Comprehensive Cancer Center
    • 2019: Lin Chang, MD
      Vice-Chief, Vatche and Tamar Manoukian Division of Digestive Diseases
      Program Director, UCLA GI Fellowship Program
      David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA


    AAMC Mid-Career Women Leadership Conference

    • 2012: Kyong-Mi Chang, MD
    • 2013: Rebecca Wells, MD
    • 2014: Nuzhat Ahmad, MD
    • 2016: Laurel Fisher, MD

    AAMC Early-Career Women Leadership Conference

    • 2016: Christine Hsu, MD

    AGA Women in GI Leadership Conference

    • 2015: Laurel Fisher, MD
    • 2016: Kathryn Hamilton, PhD and Christina Twyman-Saint Victor,MD, MTR
    • 2017: Faten Aberra, MD, MSCE and Kim Forde-McClean, MD, MHS, PhD
    Share This Page: