Health Alert:

See the latest Coronavirus Information including vaccinations, testing sites, visitation restrictions, and more.

Types of Rhabdomyosarcoma

Rhabdomyosarcoma is a type of sarcoma (cancer) of the muscles and connective tissues in the body. There are different types of rhabdomyosarcoma including:

Embryonal Rhabdomyosarcoma

Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma is the most common type of rhabdomyosarcoma. It can form in the head and neck area, or in the genital or urinary organs.

Alveolar Rhabdomyosarcoma

Most common in the teenage years, alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma occurs most often in the arms, legs, chest, abdomen or genital area.

Botryoid Rhabdomyosarcoma

Botryoid rhabdomyosarcoma is a type of embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma and accounts for about 5 to 10% of all rhabdomyosarcoma cases. It occurs most often in children between birth and 15 years.

Pleomorphic Rhabdomyosarcoma

Pleomorphic rhabdomyosarcoma usually occurs in adults.