Health Alert:

See the latest Coronavirus Information including testing sites, visitation restrictions, appointments and scheduling, and more.

Types of Hodgkin Lymphoma

There are two main types of Hodgkin lymphoma:

  • Classical Hodgkin lymphoma
  • Nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma

Classical Hodgkin lymphoma accounts for approximately 95 percent of all Hodgkin lymphoma. While different sub-types of classical Hodgkin lymphoma exist, treatment for classical Hodgkin lymphoma is usually the same for all sub-types and is based on the stage of disease.

Nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma accounts for about five percent of all Hodgkin lymphoma. People diagnosed with nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma can go into a remission with treatment although this disease tends to grow back over time. Sometimes people with this disease do not need to undergo treatment, even when the disease is present.