Beacon Award for Excellence Twelve units across two Penn Medicine locations were honored with the Beacon Award for Excellence in 2020-2021.

Units recognized with the Beacon Award exemplify excellence in patient care by collecting and using evidence-based information to improve patient outcomes, maintain patient and staff satisfaction and reinforce credibility with patients and their loved ones. A Beacon Award indicates a supportive work environment with strong collaboration between colleagues and leaders, higher team morale and low employee turnover.

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, which gives the award, judges critical-care units in several specific areas for Beacon recognition:

  • leadership structures and systems
  • appropriate staffing and staff engagement
  • communication
  • knowledge management and best practices
  • evidence-based practices and processes
  • patient outcomes

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania:

  • Labor and Delivery/PEC (Ravdin 7)
  • Heart & Vascular Intensive Care Unit
  • Founders 12
  • Neuro ICU
  • Staffing for All Seasons (Float Pool)
  • Founders 11
  • PACU
  • Ravdin 9
  • Ravdin 6
  • Rhoads 6

Pennsylvania Hospital:

  • Intensive Care Nursery
  • Critical Care
Share This Page: