Nursing at Penn Medicine

Beacon Award: Recognizing Nurses for Critical Care Excellence

The Beacon Award recognizes individual critical-care units that meet 42 high-quality standards in six categories. Only 2% of critical-care units in the U.S. have received this recognition. Each fall and spring, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recognizes the nation's top adult critical care, pediatric critical care and progressive care units, with Beacon Awards for Critical Care Excellence.

The awards recognize units with demonstrated excellence in:

  • Recruitment and retention
  • Education, training and mentoring
  • Research and evidence-based practice
  • Patient outcomes
  • Leadership and organizational ethos
  • A healing environment

The Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP) received this prestigious award for providing exceptional patient care.

Penn Presbyterian Medical Center has received three Beacon Awards for outstanding nursing practice in The Cardiac Care Unit, SICU Unit and MICU Unit.

Chester County Hospital's Intensive Care Unit received a silver Beacon Award for Excellence for successfully improving patient outcomes and aligning practices for a healthy work environment.