Penn Cardiovascular Institute

Principal Investigators at the Penn Cardiovascular Institute

The principal investigator labs at Penn Cardiovascular Institute (CVI) bring together basic, translational and clinical investigators to translate basic scientific discoveries into novel preventive strategies, diagnostic modalities and treatments for cardiovascular diseases.

Charles Abrams, MD

421 Curie Blvd.
912 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-3288
Fax: 215-573-7400
Email: abrams@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Charles Abrams, MD

Michael Acker, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
3400 Spruce St.
6 Silverstein Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-349-8305
Fax: 215-349-5798
Email: michael.acker@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Michael Acker, MD

William M. Armstead, BA, MS, PhD

3620 Hamilton Walk, JM3
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-573-3674
Fax: 215-349-5078
Email: armsteaw@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for William M. Armstead, BA, MS, PhD

Richard Assoian, PhD

421 Curie Blvd.
805 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-7157
Fax: 215-573-5656
Email: assoian@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Richard Assoian, PhD

Lance Becker, MD

Center for Resuscitation Science
Translational Research Laboratory
125 South 31st St.
Suite 1200
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3403

Office: 215-746-3625
Fax: 215-746-1224
Email: lance.becker@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Lance Becker, MD

Morris J. Birnbaum, MD, PhD

3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
12-123 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-5001
Fax: 215-573-9138
Email: birnbaum@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Morris J. Birnbaum, MD, PhD

Lawrence F. Brass, MD, PhD

421 Curie Blvd.
915 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-3540
Email: brass@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Lawrence F. Brass, MD, PhD

R. Nick Bryan, MD, PhD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Radiology Administration
Penn Tower
Lobby Level, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-3030
Fax: 215-662-7011
Email: nick.bryan@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for R. Nick Bryan, MD, PhD

David J. Callans, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Cardiology Division
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-6052
Email: callansd@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for David J. Callans, MD

Anne Rentoumis Cappola, MD, ScM

Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
12th floor, Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104-5160

Office: 215-573-5359
Fax: 215-898-5408
Email: acappola@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Anne Rentoumis Cappola, MD, ScM

Thomas P. Cappola, MD, Sc.M.

Penn Cardiovascular Institute
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-102 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-0805
Fax: 215-615-0828
Email: thomas.cappola@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Thomas P. Cappola, MD, Sc.M.

Joseph R. Carver, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
1600 Penn Tower
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-3963
Fax: 215-662-4020
Email: jrc@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Joseph R. Carver, MD

Alvin J. Chin, MD

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Cardiology Division
34th St. and Civic Center Blvd.
Main Building, Room 8NW49
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 267-426-8185
Fax: 215-590-5825
Email: chinalvi@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Alvin J. Chin, MD

Julio A. Chirinos, MD, PhD.

Philadelphia Veterans Administration Medical Center
Division of Cardiology
University & Woodland Avenues
Suite 8B111
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-823-5800 x 6791
Fax: 215-823-4440
Email: julio.chirinos@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Julio A. Chirinos, MD, PhD.

Jason D. Christie, MD, MSCE

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
423 Guardian Dr.
719 Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-3209
Fax: 215-573-0198
Email: jchristi@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Jason D. Christie, MD, MSCE

Peter F. Davies, PhD

3340 Smith Walk
1010 Vagelos Research Lab
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6383

Office: 215-573-6813
Fax: 215-573-6815
Email: pfd@pobox.upenn.edu

View profile for Peter F. Davies, PhD

Rajat Deo, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Cardiovascular Medicine Division
3400 Spruce Street
9 Founders Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-5455
Fax: 215-662-2879
Email: rajat.deo@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Rajat Deo, MD

Scott L. Diamond, PhD

The Penn Center for Molecular Discovery
Institute for Medicine and Engineering
3340 Smith Walk
1024 Vagelos Research Laboratories
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-5702
Fax: 215-573-7227
Email: sld@seas.upenn.edu

View profile for Scott L. Diamond, PhD

Dennis E. Discher

University of Pennsylvania
Biophysical Engineering and Nanobiopolymers Lab
220 S. 33rd St.
129 Towne Bldg
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-4809
Fax: 215-573-2093
Email: discher@seas.upenn.edu

View profile for Dennis E. Discher

Michal A. Elovitz, MD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Center for Research in Reproduction and Women's Health
421 Curie Blvd.
1354 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-0859
Fax: 215-573-5408
Email: melovitz@obgyn.upenn.edu

View profile for Michal A. Elovitz, MD

Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Abramson Research Center
3615 Civic Center Blvd.
Room 1002
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399

Office: 215-590-3856
Fax: 215-590-3764
Email: beverly@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD

Jonathan A. Epstein, MD

421 Curie Blvd.
1154 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-8731
Fax: 215-898-9871
Email: epsteinj@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Jonathan A. Epstein, MD

Victor A. Ferrari, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street
9010 E. Gates Pavillion
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-2912
Fax: 215-615-3652
Email: ferrariv@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Victor A. Ferrari, MD

Garret A. FitzGerald, MD

Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
10-122 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104-5158

Office: 215-898-1185
Fax: 215-573-9135
Email: garret@upenn.edu

View profile for Garret A. FitzGerald, MD

Lee A. Fleisher, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street
6 Dulles Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-3738
Fax: 215-349-5341
Email: fleishel@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Lee A. Fleisher, MD

J. Kevin Foskett, PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Physiology
3700 Hamilton Walk
B39 Anatomy/Chemistry Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6085

Office: 215-898-1354
Fax: 215-573-6808
Email: foskett@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for J. Kevin Foskett, PhD

Lee R. Goldberg, MD, MPH

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine
3400 Civic Center Boulevard
East Pavilion, 2nd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-0820
Fax: 215-615-0828
Email: lee.goldberg@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Lee R. Goldberg, MD, MPH

Elizabeth Goldmuntz, BA, MD

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Division of Cardiology
3615 Civic Center Blvd.
Abramson Research Center, 702A
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4318

Office: 215-590-5820
Fax: 215-590-5454
Email: goldmuntz@email.chop.edu

View profile for Elizabeth Goldmuntz, BA, MD

Elena A Goncharova, PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Division
125 South 31st St.
Translational Research Laboratories, Room 1214
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-746-3593
Fax: 215-746-1224
Email: goncharo@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Elena A Goncharova, PhD

Joseph H. Gorman, III, MD

Gorman Cardiovascular Research Group
Glenolden Research Laboratory
500 S. Ridgeway Ave.
Glenolden, PA 19036

Office: 267-350-9616
Fax: 267-350-9627
Email: gormanj@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Joseph H. Gorman, III, MD

Howard C. Herrmann, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce St.
9 Gates Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-2180
Fax: 215-349-5894
Email: howard.herrmann@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Howard C. Herrmann, MD

Judd E. Hollander, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Emergency Medicine
3400 Spruce St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-662-2767
Email: hollandj@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Judd E. Hollander, MD

Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Abramson Research Center
3615 Civic Center Blvd.
Suite 416, Room 417
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-590-5320
Fax: 215-590-4267
Email: ischirop@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD

Mariell Jessup, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine
3400 Civic Center Boulevard
East Pavilion, 2nd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-0808
Fax: 215-615-0828
Email: mariell.jessup@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Mariell Jessup, MD

Mark L. Kahn, MD, B.A.

421 Curie Blvd.
952 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-9007
Fax: 215-573-2094
Email: markkahn@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Mark L. Kahn, MD, B.A.

Roland G. Kallen, MD, PhD

422 Curie Blvd.
913 Stellar-Chance Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-5184
Fax: 215-573-7058
Email: rgk@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Roland G. Kallen, MD, PhD

Anna Kashina, PhD

University of Pennsylvania
School of Veterinary Medicine
3800 Spruce St.
Rm. 143 Rosenthal
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215 746-0895
Fax: 215 573-5189
Email: akashina@vet.upenn.edu

View profile for Anna Kashina, PhD

Scott E. Kasner, MD, MSCE

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Neurology
3400 Spruce St.
3W Gates Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-662-3564
Fax: 215-614-1927
Email: kasner@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Scott E. Kasner, MD, MSCE

Steven M. Kawut, MD, MS

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
423 Guardian Dr.
718 Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021

Office: 215-573-0258
Fax: 215-573-5325
Email: kawut@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Steven M. Kawut, MD, MS

Stephen E. Kimmel, MD, MSCE

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
423 Guardian Dr.
717 Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021

Office: 215-898-1740
Fax: 215-573-3106
Email: stevek@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Stephen E. Kimmel, MD, MSCE

Vera P. Krymskaya, PhD, M.B.A.

Translational Research Laboratories
125 South 31st St.
Suite 1200, Room 1212
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3403

Office: 215-573-9861
Fax: 215-746-1224
Email: krymskay@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Vera P. Krymskaya, PhD, M.B.A.

Bonnie Ky, MD, M.S.C.E.

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce St.
9054 W. Gates
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-5236
Email: bonnie.ky@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Bonnie Ky, MD, M.S.C.E.

J. Richard Landis, B.S.Ed., M.S., PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Biostatistics &Epidemiology
423 Guardian Dr.
600 Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021

Office: 215-573-4922
Fax: 215-573-4865
Email: jrlandis@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for J. Richard Landis, B.S.Ed., M.S., PhD

Mitchell A. Lazar, MD, PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
12-102 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-0198
Fax: 215-898-5408
Email: lazar@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Mitchell A. Lazar, MD, PhD

Frank S. Lee, MD, PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
422 Curie Blvd.
605 Stellar Chance Labs
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-4701
Fax: 215-573-2272
Email: franklee@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Frank S. Lee, MD, PhD

Robert J. Levy, MD

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Abramson Pediatric Research Center
3615 Civic Center Blvd.
Room 702D
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4318

Office: 215-590-6119
Fax: 215-590-5454
Email: levyr@email.chop.edu

View profile for Robert J. Levy, MD

Mingyao Li, PhD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
423 Guardian Dr.
213 Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-746-3916
Fax: 215-573-4865
Email: mingyao@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Mingyao Li, PhD

Brian Litt, MD

3320 Smith Walk
301 Hayden Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-746-4850
Fax: 215-349-5733
Email: littb@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Brian Litt, MD

Francis Edward Marchlinski, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce St.
9 Founders Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-662-6005
Fax: 215-662-2879
Email: francis.marchlinski@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Francis Edward Marchlinski, MD

Kenneth B. Margulies, MD

Penn Cardiovascular Institute
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-101 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-4717
Fax: 215-898-3473
Email: Tramel.Parker@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Kenneth B. Margulies, MD

William H. Matthai Jr., MD

Penn Presbyterian Medical Center
4 Heart & Vascular Pavilion
39th &Market Streets
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-9034
Fax: 215-243-4637
Email: william.matthai@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for William H. Matthai Jr., MD

Sarah E. Millar, PhD

422 Curie Blvd.
M8D Stellar-Chance Laboratories
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-2633
Fax: 215-573-9102
Email: millars@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Sarah E. Millar, PhD

Emile R. Mohler III, MD

Penn Cardiovascular Institute
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-103 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-6606
Fax: 215-746-7415
Email: mohlere@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Emile R. Mohler III, MD

Edward E. Morrisey, PhD

3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-124 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104-5159

Office: 215-573-3010
Fax: 215-573-2094
Email: emorrise@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Edward E. Morrisey, PhD

Vladimir R. Muzykantov, MD, PhD

Institute for Environmental Medicine
3620 Hamilton Walk
1 John Morgan Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6068

Office: 215-898-9823
Fax: 215-898-0868
Email: muzykant@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Vladimir R. Muzykantov, MD, PhD

Michael A. Pack, MD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
GI Division
421 Curie Blvd.
1212 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-4145
Email: mpack@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Michael A. Pack, MD

Michael S. Parmacek, MD

Penn Cardiovascular Institute
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-122 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Office: 215-746-4635
Email: michael.parmacek@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Michael S. Parmacek, MD

Warren S. Pear, MD, PhD

421 Curie Blvd.
611 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6160

Office: 215-573-7764
Fax: 215-573-6725
Email: wpear@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Warren S. Pear, MD, PhD

Mortimer Poncz, MD

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Division of Hematology
3615 Civic Center Blvd.
Abramson Research Center, 317
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4318

Office: 215-590-3574
Fax: 267-426-5476
Email: poncz@email.chop.edu

View profile for Mortimer Poncz, MD

Reed E. Pyeritz, MD, PhD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
11 Penn Tower
3400 Spruce St.
Suite 1115
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-4740
Fax: 215-614-0298
Email: reed.pyeritz@uphs.upenn.edu

View profile for Reed E. Pyeritz, MD, PhD

Daniel J. Rader, MD

The Division of Translational Medicine and Human Genetics
3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-125 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104-5158

Office: 215-573-4176
Fax: 215-573-8606
Email: rader@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Daniel J. Rader, MD

Muredach P. Reilly, MBBCH, MSCE

3400 Civic Center Blvd., Building 421
11-136 Smilow Center for Translational Research
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-573-1214
Email: muredach@spirit.gcrc.upenn.edu

View profile for Muredach P. Reilly, MBBCH, MSCE

Kathryn H. Schmitz, PhD, MPH

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
423 Guardian Dr.
8th floor Blockley Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-898-6604
Fax: 215-898-7392
Email: schmitz@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Kathryn H. Schmitz, PhD, MPH

Chandra M. Sehgal, PhD

3450 Hamilton Walk
308 Stemmler Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-662-6630
Email: 308 Stemmler Hall

View profile for Chandra M. Sehgal, PhD

Frank E. Silvestry, MD

Penn Cardiac Care
250 King of Prussia Road
Radnor, PA 19087

Office: 610-902-2273
Fax: 610-902-2311
Email: fsilvest@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Frank E. Silvestry, MD

Emer M. Smyth, PhD

Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics
421 Curie Blvd.
808 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6160

Office: 215-573-2323
Fax: 215-573-9004
Email: emsmyth@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Emer M. Smyth, PhD

Hansell H. Stedman, MD

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
421 Curie Blvd.
608 Biomedical Research Building (BRB) 2/3
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6069

Office: 215-898-1432
Fax: 215-573-8606
Email: hstedman@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Hansell H. Stedman, MD

H. Lee Sweeney, PhD

3700 Hamilton Walk
Richards Bldg., Room B400
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6085

Office: 215-898-8727
Fax: 215-573-2273
Email: lsweeney@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for H. Lee Sweeney, PhD

Robert L. Wilensky, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce St.
9 Gates Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Office: 215-615-3060
Fax: 215-615-3073
Email: rwilensk@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for Robert L. Wilensky, MD

James M. Wilson, MD, PhD

125 S. 31st St.
Suite 2000
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3403

Office: 215-898-0226
Fax: 215-898-6588
Email: wilsonjm@mail.med.upenn.edu

View profile for James M. Wilson, MD, PhD