Penn Cardiovascular Institute

Penn Cardiovascular Institute Leadership

The Penn Cardiovascular Institute (CVI) leadership is comprised of four distinguished clinician-scientists. Together, they lead more than 125 faculty members at Penn who describe their primary research area as cardiovascular biology or cardiovascular medicine.

Penn Cardiovascular Institute Internal Advisory Committee

The strategic focus and direction of the Penn CVI is overseen by the CVI Internal Advisory Committee. The committee includes senior faculty members from multiple departments, centers, institutes and schools at the University of Pennsylvania.

Michael A. Acker, MD
Professor of Surgery and Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery

R. Nick Bryan, MD, PhD
Eugene P. Pendergrass Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology

Peter F. Davies, PhD
Robinette Foundation Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine 
Director, Institute for Medicine and Engineering

Philip Johnson, MD
Chief Scientific Officer and Senior Vice President 
Director, Joseph Stokes, Jr. Research Institute 
Edmond F. Notebaert Chair in Pediatric Research 
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Daniel J. Rader, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology, and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Associate Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics
Director, Preventive Cardiovascular Medicine and Lipid Clinic
Program Director, General Clinical Research Center

Brian L. Strom, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology

H. Lee Sweeney, PhD
William Maul Measey Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology